Week 7- Artist Conversation- Dulce Soledad Ibarra

Artist: Dulce Soledad Ibarra
Exhibition: Manos De Oro
Media: Sculpture, Paint
Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Max L. Gatov Gallery East                                      Instagram: N/A
Website: dulcesoledadibarra.com 

This week I met a very talented artist down at the Gatov East Gallery. She goes by the name Dulce Soledad Ibarra and created the exhibition titled Manos De Oro. Ms. Ibarra is a senior at CSULB and is working on her BFA in the School of Art’s Sculpture Program. She is currently 25 years young and grew up in Chino, CA but now lives and works in Long Beach, CA. She also mentioned that her father is a gardener and that is what inspired her to create her art piece. Through her art piece she wanted to shed the negative connotation that she received once she mentioned that her dad is a gardener.

Her exhibition Manos De Oro, is beyond beautiful.  I loved how she included lawn mowers and lined them with gold silk fabric. Also, every other gardening tool that she had displayed had gold aspects to it. I found the incorporation of the gold color to be fascinating because it really made the tools stand out against the white walls and the artificial grass. I also appreciate how she informed us that it took her a very long time for her to gather all the materials used in her art piece. That just shows how committed and motivated she was to shed a new light on gardeners.

As mentioned previously, Ms. Ibarra tried to change the prejudice people have toward her father’s job through her art piece. In her art piece, she made a tribute to her father’s hands therefore symbolizing the long hours of hard work and dedication on his gardening job. She also, mentioned that growing up she didn’t receive many toys but once her family saved up money and decided to gift her a gold cross which is when she discovered she is allergic to gold. According to Ms. Ibarra, that moment was crucial to her because she felt she was being punished for being ashamed of her father’s job and therefore she didn’t deserve luxuries. Through her artwork, she embraced two major aspects in her life by including various gardening tools and covering them in gold.

As I walking through her art piece, I experienced major nostalgia. It brought me back to when I used to help my dad with up keeping our old house.  My dad loved gardening and even did it professionally for a while before finding a better paying job, so when I got to talk to Ms. Ibarra I felt very connected to her and her art piece. However, I never felt ashamed like how she felt for a while because I was too young but if I was older I’m sure that the negative connotation would have gotten to me. However, I personally feel that no matter what job you have, it is always going to be a respectable one if you are giving it your all and are proud of what you do. So I find it silly that people feel the need to give honorable jobs like gardening and being a janitor such a hard time.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

